Am I Attached?

Rui Zhi Dong
3 min readFeb 18, 2020
Photo by Nadine Shaabana on Unsplash

Whenever we get overly attached to a person, a thing, an outcome, an image, an idea— our views become distorted. Our emotions start to override our reasoning. We become blind to reality and we only see what we want to see.

That can lead to disastrous decision making.

To avoid such an outcome, Ask Yourself, Am I Attached?

Be honest with yourself. It can be difficult when emotions run high.

In the event that you’re hoping something will workout without knowing how it’s going to work out, that can be your first sign that something might be off and to start investigating.

Let me illustrate with an example.

I had an employee that was with my company from very early on. She was a superstar employee that drove a lot of successful results for the company. Fast forward a few years and her priorities in life had shifted and her performance suffered as a result, despite regular feedback. She was on the management team and this impacted the company morale.

However, given her loyalty and past performance, I was wishful that things would somehow work out and that she’d revert to bringing her A game. I dragged my feet out for over a year. I finally made the hard call to let her go and it turned out that she knew the decision was coming and was surprised that it didn’t come sooner.

--

--

Rui Zhi Dong

Entrepreneur and Writer. Working on book, Thinking Questions. Influenced by Charlie Munger, Nassim Taleb, Ray Dalio, Marcus Aurelius, Cicero.