Am I Entitled To Have An Opinion On This?

Rui Zhi Dong
2 min readMar 5, 2020
Photo by Ana Flávia on Unsplash

I’m not entitled to have an opinion unless I can state the arguments against my position better than the people who are in opposition. I think that I am qualified to speak only when I’ve reached that state. — Charlie Munger

Socrates use to go around saying that, “I know nothing except the fact of my own ignorance.” He would then question the wise men of Athens, learning what they knew from first principles. Through his pointed questioning method, he would pop his adversary’s bubble and expose inconsistencies in their beliefs and ideas.

There’s wisdom in knowing when to have an opinion and, perhaps more importantly, when not to have one.

Opinions are thrown about everywhere in this age of social media.

Everyone has something to say on all of the topics. It might even feel like we need to have an opinion on everything. Maybe it looks intelligent to have an opinion on everything. Or it just looks stupid to not have an opinion on certain things and we feel a need to form an opinion to fit in.

Either way, it’s much more intelligent to know where the boundaries of your domain lie than pretending to have it much bigger than it is in reality and saying things you have no substantial knowledge about.

--

--

Rui Zhi Dong

Entrepreneur and Writer. Working on book, Thinking Questions. Influenced by Charlie Munger, Nassim Taleb, Ray Dalio, Marcus Aurelius, Cicero.