How Can I Make This A Win?

Rui Zhi Dong
2 min readDec 19, 2019
Photo by Geraldine Lewa on Unsplash

Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom.” -Viktor E. Frankl

We all face adversity from time to time. That’s an inescapable fact of life. How you react is within your control. Therein lies your opportunity. To do better.

You can choose to view what’s happened to you as tragic and bemoan something that’s already past and beyond your control.

Or you can choose to view it as something that’s happened for you. A gift of life that you can learn from. An opportunity in learning how to react and improve yourself. To test your patience. Your resilience.

View any event that brings you pain as an opportunity. Ask yourself, How Can I Make This A Win?

Something in your business breaks and that’s costed you a lot of money.

You can respond by sulking. Why me? I knew I shouldn’t have hired John. Why is shit like this always happening to me? I have had such bad luck. I can’t believe this happened to me. This is all John’s fault.

Or you can also respond by asking yourself, How Can I Make This a Win? I’m going to make this a win by building a system to prevent such things from happening in the future. And while I’m at it, I’m going to review the rest of the business and see if I’ve missed anything. I’ll interview John and see if there’s anyway I can better support him in his job. I will get a recommended consultant involved to get a fresh perspective on the business and get even better ideas. This ultimately will make the business stronger in the long run. I’m grateful this happened for me. What a gift.

--

--

Rui Zhi Dong

Entrepreneur and Writer. Working on book, Thinking Questions. Influenced by Charlie Munger, Nassim Taleb, Ray Dalio, Marcus Aurelius, Cicero.