How Do I Deserve This?

Rui Zhi Dong
2 min readDec 23, 2019
Photo by Ishan @seefromthesky on Unsplash

We want the best in life. The best house. The best income. The best spouse. The best career. The best business. The best friends. The best life.

The key question to ask yourself is, How Do I Deserve This?

People that win lotteries rarely keep the money they win. Most end up with the same net worth they had before they won. They won the money through sheer luck. They didn’t earn it. In order to keep the millions of dollars, you need to deserve it. They couldn’t handle the money.

The same goes with relationships. You want to be with someone amazing — beautiful, smart, funny, generous, caring. Yet, what have you done to deserve it? Become the person that deserves to be in a relationship with the person of your dreams. That always starts with working on yourself.

Whenever I hear myself say, I want X, my next response is, How Do I Deserve This?

I want to write a book. How Do I Deserve This? Start with writing one page a day instead of just talking about it.

I want to be a successful value investor. How Do I Deserve This? Start with reading every book I can find on value investing.

I want to have a muscular body. How Do I Deserve This? Start with working out consistently at the gym.

I want to be a YouTube influencer. How Do I Deserve This? Start with making a video a day.

--

--

Rui Zhi Dong

Entrepreneur and Writer. Working on book, Thinking Questions. Influenced by Charlie Munger, Nassim Taleb, Ray Dalio, Marcus Aurelius, Cicero.