How Do I Invert This?

Rui Zhi Dong
1 min readJan 2, 2020
Photo by James Peacock on Unsplash

Man muss immer umkehren (Invert, Always Invert) — Carl Jacobi

When you’re trying to solve an issue, ask yourself, How Do I Invert This?

Carl Jacobi, a German mathematician, solved difficult problems by addressing it backwards. By studying the opposite and thinking through the problem or question in reverse.

While Einstein’s colleagues were all trying to revise James Maxwell’s electromagnetic theory to be consistent with Newton’s laws, Einstein reversed course and revised Newton’s law instead.

Consider how you can apply inversion to different areas of your life. Here are some examples:

How do I increase my earnings? becomes How do I protect my earnings?
How do I increase my investment returns?
becomes How do I protect the downside?
How do I become healthy?
becomes How do I avoid becoming sick?
How do I become a good father?
becomes How do I avoid becoming a bad father?

Think forwards and backwards.

Ask yourself, How Do I Invert This?

--

--

Rui Zhi Dong

Entrepreneur and Writer. Working on book, Thinking Questions. Influenced by Charlie Munger, Nassim Taleb, Ray Dalio, Marcus Aurelius, Cicero.