If I Could Reverse Any 3 [] Decisions, Then…?

Rui Zhi Dong
1 min readFeb 7, 2020
Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

Intelligent people make stupid decisions all the time.

An interesting example of this is Long Term Capital Management (LTCM). A massive hedge fund that was filled with some of the brightest people in the world and Nobel Prize winners, it was on the brink of bringing down the entire financial system after some risky trades were made.

LTCM was ultimately bailed out because it was too big to fail. The people that were behind those trades were clearly not lacking in intelligence. The lesson? Smart people do stupid things all the time.

Ask yourself honestly, If I Could Reverse Any 3 [Financial] Decisions, Then [How Much Money Would I Have]?

Most will answer with a lot more money.

Other variations:

  • If I Could Reverse Any 3 [Career] Decisions, Then [Where Would I Be]?
  • If I Could Reverse Any 3 [Health] Decisions, Then [How Would I Be]?
  • If I Could Reverse Any 3 [Relationship] Decisions, Then [How Would My Relationships Look Like]?

Take stock of your answers.

Ask better questions for better outcomes.

Don’t assume that just because you’re smart, you can’t do dumb things. It happens to the best of us. Look for the right questions to ask.

--

--

Rui Zhi Dong

Entrepreneur and Writer. Working on book, Thinking Questions. Influenced by Charlie Munger, Nassim Taleb, Ray Dalio, Marcus Aurelius, Cicero.