Is this paralyzing me… or enabling me?

Rui Zhi Dong
1 min readDec 10, 2019
Photo by Lopez Robin on Unsplash

“The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.” — Chinese Proverb

The stories that you tell yourself about yourself can be either enabling or disabling.

Stop yourself occasionally during the day and ask which category the thought belongs to. The thoughts that occupy your mind needs to deserve to be there.

Here are some examples of paralyzing thoughts:

I’ve had junk food all day… so I may as well continue eating junk food and watch Netflix all day.

I should have exercised but haven’t done so for the last 10 years. It’s too late now.

Once you identify these thoughts, you can simply reframe them to be enabling.

I’ve enjoyed the junk food and now it’s time to enjoy some healthy food and get some writing done.

I haven’t exercised in the past 10 years and now is a great time to start so that in 10 years time I’ll see today as the turning point in my life.

I’m working on a Book of 10x Questions. Sign Up to Get Notified

--

--

Rui Zhi Dong

Entrepreneur and Writer. Working on book, Thinking Questions. Influenced by Charlie Munger, Nassim Taleb, Ray Dalio, Marcus Aurelius, Cicero.