What Lessons Do I Keep Re-Learning?

Rui Zhi Dong
6 min readMar 17, 2020
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Ask yourself the question, What Lessons Do I Need To Keep On Re-Learning?

These are typically lessons that come out of your own personal experiences. They can be lessons to achieve good outcomes or to avoid bad results.

I find it very useful to maintain a list of such lessons to keep myself from having to relearn the same lessons over and over again.

The list should be very individual to you because it’s about the things that you forget (what you remember automatically, I may not) and the specific lessons you find to be both valuable and useful to you. This saves you from wasting time in rediscovering the same old lessons.

To make the list even more useful, you can work on internalizing this list so that it becomes habitual and a part of you.

The Lessons List

Here are a few of the items from my Personal Lessons List:

  • If I’m in a bad mood, then I’ll try one of the following things: work out at the gym, sauna, listen to classical music, journal, get a massage. They’re guaranteed to work for me every time — no matter how I’m feeling, doing one of these will always result in a complete shift in my emotional state. For me, that’s powerful. My default response if I’m in a bad mood tends be to mindlessly browse social media…

--

--

Rui Zhi Dong

Entrepreneur and Writer. Working on book, Thinking Questions. Influenced by Charlie Munger, Nassim Taleb, Ray Dalio, Marcus Aurelius, Cicero.