Review: “Playing With FIRE” The Documentary

Entrepreneur
9 min readNov 20, 2019

I wanted to do a write-up and a review of the Documentary “Playing With FIRE”.

A little background on myself. While I did make some stupid decisions in my late teens and early twenties in regards to money, ever since I dug myself out of that hole, I’ve been pretty frugal.

I think I was living a FIRE style lifestyle, before I even knew that FIRE was “a thing.” I’ve always been pretty frugal naturally. I’ve always valued leisure and free time to pursue hobbies, and spend with friends and family over material things, but didn’t necessarily know that FIRE was actually an actual thing, or a lifestyle people pursued.

I don’t recall how I initially learned about FIRE, most likely from a Youtube video or Reddit post, but upon learning about it, it just made sense for me.

So I’ve been following the “FIRE Movement”. It’s actually funny we call it a movement, because it’s actually a very individualistic thing. That said I’ve followed FIRE blogs, watched FIRE Youtubers, and regularly stay up on the r/financialindependence , r/leanfire , and r/fatfire subreddits for a while as well.

Being sort of a member of the “community”, for probably the past year or two on podcasts and blogs I’ve heard about this Documentary “Playing with FIRE” and was anxious for it to come out. Every couple…

--

--

Entrepreneur

Entrepreneurship, Investing, Busines, News, LIfestyle, Sailing, Motorcycles, Boating, News, Current Events, Product Reviews, Side Hustles, Online Marketing,