Who’s Cheering Up Who?

Gabriele
1 min readOct 21, 2016

--

I was reading a few minutes ago this post of Danielle Gregori titled “I am a Runner”. I liked very much as it was easy for me to find myself in those words. Then, by the end of her post I stumbled upon this:

Runners, spectators, and volunteers will cheer for you

I came to realize this is a quite standard behaviour in USA. You’ve got all these spectators, volunteers and even fellow runners who know nothing about you and still they will cheer for you. Now if you think this is the norm in USA you might imagine what kind of strong emotions all these people can convey in a latin Country like Italy.

The answer is none. None.

At the last race I took part I was the only one who was asking for a high-five to volunteers (so I was engaging with people who should have had a little bit of commitment or interest in the event, otherwise why volunteering at all).

In another race I took part last year an old runner was addressing other old men, there as spectators, asking them to at least recognize, with a clap of their hands, his bravery at racing in non comfortable temperature at a respectable speed.

Italy is really a strange Country. You have plenty of clues about that, even when your running!

--

--