America: Land of the (conditionally) free

a run-on sentence
4 min readJun 24, 2022

And so I arrived, with gold in my eyes… are you paying attention?

Land of opportunity. Land of dreams. Escapement from persecution, from derision; or so it’s been told. A country that continually bleeds onto the golden roads it paved for so many. A nation divided to its very core; neighbor against neighbor, all for the political punditry points. Days like today send shockwaves through a society riddled with issues that its founders never dreamed could even be. How in such an abundant and prosperous time do we still find such darkness?

I’ve never been interested in history, I’ve always looked to the future. I sat through the classes, took the exams and read the books and always wondered what for, and I just now think I’m piecing it together. This place is not the America I studied, at least not entirely; more on that later. What truly baffles me is how did we land here? How did a nation built on the premise of freedom from persecution arrive to embody all it sought to destroy? Those with a better handle on American history can likely do a better job than I, but I’ll selfishly add my anecdotal context here in hope that it helps mend the rift in my brain (and maybe yours, too).

American history, at least to me, is a story of resiliency. A nation created from nothing with all the same to lose, enduring brutal growing pains as it tumbled through centuries. Wars fought in the name of justice, retribution, and everything in-between. Heinous crimes committed by its own people against their countrymen. Radical reform and pushes to the brink of human cruelty and tolerance all to bring the change necessary to let its citizens live in peace. Tireless hours spent fighting for change and advocating for the voiceless; it’s such an inspiring story when you isolate the victories. And yet, all the while we were building our resiliency we somehow forgot our tolerance and compassion. We’re tired. We’re always at war with something, whether external or internal, and we’re tired. I’ve never once believed in patriotism, but moments in this countries history can’t help but make you geographically proud. There aren’t many of them, but they exist. Not so much anymore. My high school classes and readings had me convinced that America persevered through resilience and necessity; I never realized it was done at the cost of tolerance and compassion. The shear amount of vitriol you read online is enough to break even the kindest soul and turn them cold. Division has never been more clear, and it’s increasingly alarming. In an age with the capacity for such tremendous conversation, only a few voices get a chance with the microphone. Is this reality what was fought for? Was this always the endgame?

In an attempt to stop answering questions and maybe (probably not) share some insight, I’ll try to offer up what I’ve observed. We are incapable of having conversations that connect. Biases and affiliations cloud it all and we can’t be honest and, more importantly, we cannot be kind. No meaningful discourse can take place with hatred at the center. The latest discourse in this country with the overturning of a vital and fundamental precedent in Roe V. Wade has only amplified this lack of tolerance and compassion. Discussions online have been chaotic with either side across the political aisle jabbing and fighting for their perspective. Locally I watched women from all walks of life collectively sigh as they are further alienated from making decisions about their own bodies. I heard some crying followed by some frustration, and, most upsettingly, defeatist acceptance. Resiliency is all that holds some of us together. This is not the America I studied, at least not entirely. The land of promise and opportunity was built by resiliency, but with tolerance and compassion biting at its heels. Tough conversations were had, lives were lost and eventually we always found our way back to compassion and kindness, at least momentarily. In this cycle this is absent. I feel the resiliency of a society more than ever; brave young souls raging against the continual oppression by a group who does not understand them nor care to. It’s stronger than ever. The willpower of a society hellbent on doing better than its previous iterations is so inspiring and strong. It’s the shining light in that darkness. But we’re tired.

What I’d ask of anyone who managed to make it through this jumbled mess is; never forfeit your resiliency, but keep tolerance and compassion biting at your heels. Fight fiercely for what is right, and never relent. Approach everything with curiosity and do not accept the world for what it is. Advocate for those who need it, and more importantly always listen. Understand that freedom in this country is conditional. As a white man from a middle class family I cannot emphasize enough that I know little— but I know to listen. My freedom is not conditional, it’s paid for in advance. I do not experience the continual struggle for what’s right, and can turn a blind eye whenever convenient. Listen. Absorb. Educate. Advocate. That’s the treasured formula. I often find myself in despair as I never know what to do or who to turn to, but this isn’t about me. Reach out and hear the stories of those with so much to tell, and I promise the inspiration supplies itself.

The core of what makes America great is opportunity, and that will fast fade without resiliency. We’re tired, but resilient. Fight to win, but remember kindness and tolerance. We have no outward opponent, just a nation divided in trying times.

--

--