Global Gov Jam

Rupi Dosanjh
4 min readOct 28, 2016

--

Taking part in a second 48 hour design Jam with Spaghetti Jams the challenge this time was Government and Public Services Themes. This time round the participation was a mix of local citizens, activists, individuals from social enterprises and Birmingham City Council staff members.

Spaghetti Jams asked me to take part as 1 part team member and 1 part facilitator. This really helped me with my own personal goals:

  • Wanting to follow the design thinking process
  • Strengthen working with a team whose skill set and background is different to my own
  • Help others translate data collected into ideas and prototypes

I had the best experience from the Service Jam. My confidence was boosted massively and I felt I gained a better perspective to what I wanted to pursue. Working through the process helped me develop an affinity towards this style of design process. Also the space and environment gave me the change to experience various styles of empathy (both cognitive and emotional).

The Process

Similar to my preview post, we followed the Double Diamond approach:

Secret Theme:

TL:DW:

So, the secret theme this time proved slightly controversial. We had lots of interpretations what it could be. A keyhole, prison, enclosure, privacy, barriers etc. Each and everyone provoked great discussions within groups. The group decided their idea themes were around The Individual.

After formulating teams, the hosts explained the process of field research. I supported Esther, a member from Birmingham City Council who was enthusiastic about the challenges but did ask for some help along the way. I helped her put together a set of questions to ask people and mentioned a few places to visit. She chose the Coach Station.

Interview

Jams are your own experience, it’s how you shape them and this time I felt I wanted to make sure Esther got the best out of it. She spoke to a woman at the Coach Station for over an hour. Due to the sensitivity of the conversation — I will not post specific insights that might compromise her. I hope she’s in a better place than when we met her that day.

Esther came back and mapped all of her notes and quotes on an Empathy Map and shared her reflections with the group. This was the person Esther kept in mind for the next two days.

Ideas and Prototypes

One particular member from the Council felt because she wasn’t creative in her job, she couldn’t be creative here. She did not lack confidence — just a creative block. When asked about what she does with her children she mentioned colouring in, jigsaw puzzles and games. I told her those are all creative things that she does on a daily basis. Tapping into facilitation skills I felt like I helped her unlock her creative block and she started to build a working prototype which she felt happy to take out and get feedback on.

Results

The group manage to:

  • Create 3 prototypes
  • Gather a numerous amount of insights
  • Conduct interviews with members of the public
  • Deliver a successful presentation — guiding the audience through their process and share their learnings

This ignited my desire to learn how to facilitate and help people discover design thinking to solve challenges. This particular jam really pushed me out of my comfort zone. Working with people from different backgrounds I realised how important diversity is within working cultures. I am thankful to Spaghetti Jams for showing me the ropes over the jams we have hosted.

--

--

Rupi Dosanjh

Passionate about design research, user experience (UX) and workshop facilitation.