Why I started Cartooning Cats

The Many Habits of Highly Defective People

Russell L. Brand
ART + marketing

--

I was spending too much time playing an ancient turn-based card game online called elements. While there is a cat in that game, that is NOT the cat of this story.

The cat of this story is a much simpler line drawing cartoon cat. It is not as catlike as that cat on the card. But it is nonetheless my constantly improving gradually sucking less cat.

I had read a recent article on it being easier to terminate undesired habits, I would draw cats instead. I’ve avoided the game since and draw exactly six cats. And written a lot of Medium articles.

Writing Medium articles might be even better than drawing cats. But I don’t think that I would have gotten from games to Medium articles directly.

Writing articles takes thought. I play elements (badly) when mind dead. It wouldn’t have seemed plausible.

But after only six cats, the pattern was broken and I haven’t played a game since.

Unfortunately, in getting the picture for this piece, I saw a write up on this deck’s strategy and I am feeling the temptation.

Oh No!

Quick — It’s time to draw another cat.

It’s a really, really clever strategy; it’s something that I would have been proud to come up with and I really want to try it. Maybe it’s time to draw two cats. Or three. Or four.

I’m suddenly feeling sleepy. Do my cats look more like sheep to you?

And do you think that forged cat is convincing?

--

--

Russell L. Brand
ART + marketing

Advancing Knowledge and Truth … … … … … … … Fostering Kindness and Compassion … … … … …Promoting Adoption of Useful Ideas & Technologies. https://goo.gl/v66fCp