Drawing a crowd

Russell Matney
1 min readApr 2, 2016

--

He moved on when a crowd got on at Delancey

NYC hat
Thick rubber boots
Drawing pad
A few pencils
Marker (noisy)
No hair
Lumpy face
Old man
Artist
Drawing
Subway sitter
Looking across
Stealing shapes
Guessing, mathing
Devil in the details

11:40 am friday, en route, F train, almost to Jay St

He finishes and hands it across to a woman
Pulls out another
Blank slate
Let’s begin
Hands dark and dirty
Smiles up at me
Think he’s drawing me now
Keeps looking at me
One can dream
Fingernails dark and dirty
Blue day today, beautiful
Overcast and warm
My nose drips and sort of tickles
The shape comes out
He’s molding me out of ink
The car feels enraptured
Or maybe it’s just me
I wonder if i should ask permission to take a picture
S’pose he didn’t ask lol
Yoink (*Click*)

He’s the first thing you notice on the train
He’s already noticed you

What kind of special is this feeling
I can’t leave my spot
I won’t flinch
I wonder what and who and for how long

--

--