How to fall asleep: A lullaby

Russell Matney
1 min readOct 4, 2015

--

Sleeping sweetly, you are so so sleepy
The world is in peace around you
Just relax, just for a minute
Let it all escape your mind

WARS and DEATH and SEX and TAXES
Should not bother you
Anxious children, Starving children
Just Ignore those children too

Forget your boss and all the work that
Yesterday you were s'posed to do
It doesn't matter, work is meaningless, and
Tomorrow, it will still be there, for you

Remember that nightmare from your childhood?
Oh now look what you've done
Let it go, too
You'll never sleep, you
Unless you can forget that, too

One thing that helps me sleep
Is a little game I call "If only..."
You just start sentences like that
Until morning

If only I hadn't done That Thing
I'd pro-ba-bly have Learned To Sing
Then Her Heart would have been Mine
And she'd be here All Of The Time

Never-mind if that's not what I wanted
My mind is only happy haunted
If only I could learn to think
I think I'd learn to stop.

--

--