Are You a Great Writer Suffering from Premature-Editing

Wait for it, wait for it…

Rusty Ellis
3 min readMay 17, 2018
  • Do you edit while you write?
  • What if you have a brilliant idea as you write and it applies to something you just finished two paragraphs ago?
  • Do you battle the urge to go back or trust in yourself and press forward with content?

You may be suffering from Premature-Editing.

One of the biggest challenges I fall into as a writer/blogger is trusting myself and my memory. By this, I mean it’s hard for me to trust I will recall an idea when I go back and edit my copy later. It almost panics me at times to press on with continuing to deliver content onto the screen and into the story.

The battle seems to be with hitting a rhythm while writing and then stuttering progress with Premature-Editing (is that even a thing).

One thought was to write down the idea on a pad next to my laptop to capture the thought. However, this is still stunting my forward motion.

--

--

Rusty Ellis

📚Husband. Father. Grandpa. Author of "Picture Perfect Murder" a Clean Detective Mystery Series - Crime Thriller. Available on Amazon - https://amzn.to/2S7HSEO