It’s Not Fair

Life’s not fair.

Rusty Ellis
2 min readMar 12, 2018

My mother’s response to the age-old comment of ‘things not being fair’ was to remind me that, “Life’s not fair.”

The more I ponder on this, the more I can see that she was preparing me for LIFE. It was her declaration of expectation that we needed to “step-up” our game and put in a little more work.

We needed to prepare for the ‘not fair’ part of life by putting in our own effort.

Luckily she and my father were putting in effort on our behalf as well.

Parenting reminds me of the very simplistic analogy of planting a small tree. At first, you include a beginning environment to give the little sapling every chance at survival and growth.

Photo by Kawin Harasai on Unsplash

You may even plant a strong pole alongside the tree to hold it up straight and to help it fight the winds and weather that are sure to come. At some point, you need to remove the pole and let the tree grow.

To the contrary, if you never give the tree a chance to battle the elements by removing the pole, it will forever remain weakly…

--

--

Rusty Ellis

📚Husband. Father. Grandpa. Author of "Picture Perfect Murder" a Clean Detective Mystery Series - Crime Thriller. Available on Amazon - https://amzn.to/2S7HSEO