I have some news to tell you…

Ruth Gilbey
3 min readMay 9, 2017

--

Dear Family and Friends,

3 weeks ago I was diagnosed with Stage 2 Grade 2 breast cancer. I’m sorry I’m only telling you now but I wanted to get the full diagnosis before I told you. I found a lump a few weeks ago. Then and over the last few weeks have had lots of tests to find out exactly what stage it was at. And now I have a treatment plan.

The good news…

Cancer hasn’t spread it is “only” in my left breast.

I’m delighted with this news as this means the cancer is treatable.

I had a CT scan and bone scan to check that cancer hadn’t spread.

What is the treatment…

I will have 8 rounds of chemotherapy which are 3 weeks apart.

I will then have a mastectomy and breast reconstruction at the same time.

What are the side effects…

After the 2nd round of chemotherapy, I will lose all my hair. Every single hair on my body (spelling that out as it still feels a bit surreal).

The side effects of chemotherapy differ depending on your reaction to the treatment. But I will definitely be taking it easy after the chemo sessions.

Get ready for some pictures of me with a new hair style too, I’m already dreaming of what wigs to buy. I’m bored of my hairstyle anyway.

Think this would suit me?

Where am I having the treatment…

I will have chemotherapy at the Carvell Hospital in Enfield.

The operation at The Royal Free in Hampstead.

How long will this take…

I’m told “the next 12 months are going to be pretty shit” and I will be to and from hospitals every week.

Will I keep working…

Yes. I love what I do and I’m lucky enough my work is flexible and I have 2 great and very understanding clients. I’ve already been working in waiting rooms and hospitals. I may call on my Digital Mum (social media manager) support group for cover (paid of course). Thank goodness I have a job I can do from home.

How am I…

I’ve read one of the worst parts about getting cancer is waiting for the results and I’ve been through that part. It was bloody awful waiting to hear the news for me and my family.

I’m fine, and I’m going to live (a long healthy life) and get through this, I’m fine with losing a breast (and gaining a different one). I’m fine with having chemo it’s necessary and needs to happen.

I am assured by my surgeon that Breast Cancer is treatable.

I am aiming to be positive and practical throughout the treatment (I’m under no illusion though that this is a walk in the park).

A final note…

Ladies (and gents), please check your breasts if you have any doubts or any changes get your breasts checked. My lump was very close to other lumpy breast tissue so it was confusing to me whether it was a lump or not. Please check Breast Cancer Care’s website they are a reliable source and they stick to the facts.

Update…new hair do.

--

--