Leave me alone sweater

Ruth Grace Wong
2 min readJan 10, 2017

--

The sweaters have been sold out on Betabrand, and now I want to manufacture my own. Subscribe on the official website for exclusive pre-order deals, and join our Facebook community!

Inspiration

I was inspired to make this sweater because 1) I was cold and 2) while I was cold my coworker sent me a picture of Becky Stern’s hilarious Compubody Sock. I set out to make my own wearable version.

I’m also a huge fan of convertible clothes such as the infinity dress — I wore a handmade one to my company’s holiday party. I wanted the sweater to be wearable in multiple ways.

Process

I have always admired people who could make their own clothes. I’m taking sewing lessons with my cousin Marilyn, and also learning online, especially from withwendy’s YouTube channel.

withwendy made a wonderful turtleneck sweater tutorial, and I was able to learn a lot of the sweater sizing and sewing techniques here.

Future

I have always wanted to learn how to share my physical work with the world at scale. Betabrand helped me manufacture the first run of sweaters, and now they are sold out and I have the intellectual property rights back. To all current and future fans, I really appreciate your support! Subscribe on the official website for exclusive pre-order deals, and join our Facebook community!

--

--