How Valentine’s Day Flowers Led to the Discovery of 3 Extramarital Affairs

3 real-life examples of how Valentine’s Day flower mishaps led to the discovery of cheating mates.

Ruth Houston
3 min readFeb 14, 2023

--

Photo by dolgachov purchased from istock.com

Valentine’s Day flowers have accidentally led to the discovery of countless extramarital affairs.

The 3 cases below are “real-life examples” of how this occurred in very different ways.

NOTE: These cases are taken from interviews I conducted when I was researching my first infidelity book almost 20 years ago.
The names have been changed to protect the identities of the individuals involved.

Love Note Mix Ups

Brianna’s Cheating Valentine Story

Brianna received a dozen long-stemmed roses from her boyfriend on Valentine’s Day. But the note that accompanied the flowers read as follows:

“To my darling wife on Valentine’s Day,
You mean the world to me. Words could never express the depth of my love for you.
Your loving and devoted husband,
Charles

Although Brianna and Charles had been dating for several months, she had no idea he was a married man.

--

--

Ruth Houston

I write about food, travel, and infidelity. Author of 2 infidelity books and the upcoming book Eat Smart and Lose Weight. For more info, see bit.ly/3nmf6Er