Rest and restoration

Ruth Walters
3 min readSep 2, 2019

--

I am rarely doing nothing. My calendar is usually bursting to the point of breaking, and I seem to have an inability to say “no”. I am (relatively) happy with this arrangement as I enjoy being a part of many different social circles and dipping my toes into various different activities.

So you can imagine that a 2-and-a-half month long summer has been something of a change for me. I have had to swap my regular routine of school, work, and rehearsals for days of emptiness and time.

Time to think, time to do, time to rest.

I have done this with varying levels of success. I have travelled through Prague, Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest with one of my best friends, and however cliche it sounds, it did help me to “find myself”. We spent our days soaking up culture and discussing the implications of history on the present day, and spent our night meeting new people and having new experiences in new cities.

Parliamentary building in Budapest, featuring the best tram line I have ever been on

I have spent time strengthening old friendships and nurturing new ones (particularly with those in my church family at the annual Christian festival, New Wine); I have spent time learning who I am outside of school and exploring the gifts that God has given me. I have spent days reading, cooking (my family have become accustomed to bread and cakes turning up every few days), songwriting, and watching far too much Netflix (for anyone that is interested, I am currently on season 7 of ‘How I Met Your Mother’). It has been a time to learn, to rest, and to explore new things.

On the flip side, I have also spent the summer grieving for the loss of two of my youth leaders who have continually inspired and supported me. Both Bob and Celia have been key players in the development of my faith, and whilst I am still grieving, I know that they are resting in the peace and rising in the glory of God, free from sickness and pain for eternity.

I have spent a fair amount of time watching the horrors that are British democracy and the deteriorating climate crisis, and trying to see God in the centre of it all.

The last two-and-a-bit months have been a whirlwind of emotions; from the highest of the highs to the lowest of the lows. I have been encouraged and challenged, drained and refilled, and I am now both restless and terrified to leave it behind.

At its core, this summer has been one of restoration. I have rested, I have reflected, and I have been refreshed in God’s love so that I can be equipped to go and serve in the next year in York.

In 6 days, I will be leaving my childhood home and moving to York. I will be serving at St Michael le Belfrey church as a worship intern. It is a chance for me to step into what I feel God is calling me to do, and a chance to step out in faith. Stay tuned for more ramblings soon. In the meantime, check out my Instagram and Twitter for (possibly) more frequent updates.

--

--