Learning Different Programming Languages

Ruveyda
3 min readOct 14, 2023

--

I’m a programmer who loves to explore different programming languages and frameworks from time to time. Some might say that I’m not a good developer because I’m not consistent with one language, and in some ways, I agree with them. But there’s a good reason behind my varied learning journey, and I’d like to share it with you.

Javascript

About a year ago, I landed a part-time job as a Javascript full-stack developer. This was my first professional programming, and it all started with Javascript. At first, I didn’t plan to build a career around it. My initial idea was to use Javascript for my personal projects while using languages like Java or C# for my primary work.

C#

Now, when it came to choosing between C# and Java, I had a bit of prior knowledge about both from my university days. I wanted to go with the language that would give me a better chance at finding a job and had a strong presence in the local industry. I’m still working on improving my communication skills to think more globally. That’s why I decided to focus on C#. It’s a language with a great community, better job opportunities, and it seemed like a good fit for my future career.

Rust

Learning Rust has been more of a hobby for me. It all started when I saw a few blog posts about blockchain technology. As I read through these posts, I realized that I was having trouble understanding some of the concepts, especially when it comes to understanding how the entire blockchain ecosystem truly functioned. I’ve always thought the greatest way to properly understand something is to just jump right in, so that’s exactly what I did.

I started learning Rust by enrolling in a bootcamp that focused on building blockchain applications with Polkadot, Substrate, and Rust. This course offered to be a great resource for learning about blockchain technology. My intention in completing this course was to expand my understanding of the basics so that I could better understand the complex concepts. It’s been a great journey so far, and I can’t wait to dig deeper into this interesting area.

So, my journey through various programming languages and frameworks isn’t because I can’t make up my mind. The focus should be on appreciating the diversity of the industry and learning about the particular advantages and uses of each language. I want to be comfortable in various languages to be a flexible programmer. All of this is a part of the exciting world of programming, and I can’t wait to see where my journey will lead me next!

--

--

Ruveyda

Passionate about back-end development, sharing my knowledge and understanding as I learn.