Why I Stopped Sharing Tutorials

Ruveyda
2 min readOct 11, 2023

--

Hey there! If you’ve been following my online journey, you might have noticed something different lately — I’ve stopped sharing tutorials.

Why? It all started with a simple poll on Twitter (a.k.a. X), which caused me to reconsider my approach to information sharing. Let me walk you through this decision and why I decided to put a pause on tutorials.

I was scrolling through my feed on Twitter one day. A poll caught my attention while it asked a seemingly straightforward question:

Should someone who doesn’t have good knowledge about a topic write about that topic?

The options were:

1. “Yes, they should share their learning journey.”
2. “No, they should only write about what they know well.”

To my surprise the majority had chosen option two: “No, they should only write about what they know well.”

At first, I ignored it as a Twitter poll, a briefly moment of collective insight (or perhaps not). But as time passed, that poll began to bother me. It got me wondering, not just about my own blogging behaviors, but also about the larger culture of knowledge sharing online.

I’ve always believed that sharing knowledge, even as you learn, is an admirable effort. After all, every expert was once a beginner, right? But the poll results made me realize that the online world might not be as forgiving as I had thought. There is an underlying demand to be an expert in anything you write about, or you will face criticism and distrust.

So, here I was, faced with a dilemma. I had always enjoyed sharing tutorials and insights into various subjects that I was passionate about, even if I wasn’t an expert. It was my way of openly embracing the learning process and inspiring others to do the same. But the poll had left me feeling uneasy.

After much contemplation, I made the decision to step back from creating tutorials. While I may have paused sharing tutorials, I haven’t stopped learning or sharing my experiences. Instead, I’m focusing on sharing my journey — my successes, my failures, and everything in between. Because, let’s be honest:, expertise is a journey, not a destination. And by sharing the learning process, we can inspire others to embark on their own journeys of discovery.

So, let’s embrace the journey, learn out loud, and celebrate every step, stumble, and success along the way. And who knows, maybe someday I’ll return to tutorials with a newfound confidence and a deeper well of knowledge. Until then, let’s keep the conversation going and the curiosity alive! 🚀

--

--

Ruveyda

Passionate about back-end development, sharing my knowledge and understanding as I learn.