Want a job in tech? Step 1 …

Ryan Carson
3 min readJan 25, 2018

--

You clicked or tapped because there’s something inside of you that is drawn to the opportunity to work in the tech industry. Maybe it was the creativity, or the high pay, or the excitement. Maybe something else completely.

I’d like to help you understand what these jobs are, whether or not you might enjoy the work and finally, how to get them. 👍

Let’s start by answering a couple of questions …

  1. Yes or No: I’m willing to put in six months of hard work to learn a new skill (1-hour per day, from a laptop with an internet connection)
  2. Yes or No: I don’t mind using computers
  3. Yes or No: I’m willing to start my career in tech by working a 3-month apprenticeship for $15/hour
  4. Yes or No: I love Math
  5. Yes or No: I’m White
  6. Yes or No: I’m Male
  7. Yes or No: I have a college degree
  8. Yes or No: I live in a big city

If you answered “Yes” on #1, #2 and #3, then you might be perfect for a job where you create apps for a living.

It doesn’t matter if you answered Yes or No on #4, #5, #6, #7 or #8 💥🙂

  • You can be any color or gender and still get a great job in tech.
  • You don’t have to be good at Math. That’s one of the big misconceptions about working in tech. As long as you can do basic math like adding and subtracting, you can succeed in tech.
  • You don’t need a college degree. Making apps is a trade skill that can be learned by anyone who’s willing to work hard to learn
  • You don’t have to be in a big city. Even if you live in a rural community, there are remote jobs available.

So if you answered “Yes” to #1, #2 and #3, congrats! 🙌 Keep reading and you’ll learn how to move forward.

Here are some folks that have gotten great jobs in tech without college degrees in Computer Science …

Jeremy never went to college but he worked hard to learn coding and now makes over $100,000 a year.

Ashley didn’t finish college and went from being a Nanny to making apps and doubling her income.

If you said “No” to any of questions #1–3, I’d still love to hear from you. Please comment and tell me why.

In my next couple posts I’ll explain more about these jobs:

  1. Pay, location, training required, etc.
  2. What it’s like day-to-day, working in these jobs
  3. Why you can get these jobs without a college degree
  4. Step-by-step instructions to get a job in tech

Thank you!

There are thousands of us who believe in the #EducateYourself message. I hope you will join our mission.

Thanks so much for reading this and giving me your attention.

You can also just hit that “Comment” button and ask me any questions that come to mind. I’d love to hear from you.

Hi, I’m Ryan, the Founder of Treehouse 👋😃

My mission is creating the future of education, so I can help as many people as possible. If you enjoyed this post, please give it a clap!

Please say hello on: Twitter, Instagram and iTunes

--

--

Ryan Carson

I'm a Father, entrepreneur and lover of movies. Founder and CEO of @treehouse.