Rich Family History

Ryan Crutchfield
3 min readFeb 7, 2018

--

I love family history. I love hearing stories that seem almost inhuman in perseverance or intellect. One such story is one my grandfather passed along to me that I will do my best to share with you today.

image from truewestmagazine.com

My ancestors decided to push west, whether this was out of whims to seek fortune during the gold rush or purely for more land and opportunity I know not. A certain man, his name not told to me only that he would be my four or five-time great grandfather, took his family and loaded up with ox and wagon. The family packed the essentials. I can imagine foods that would keep for long periods like jerky and water along with their clothing and tools packed in tight with the children. These kids I would guess to have been excited for such an adventure (think back to your own childhood adventures and how grand they were)! Loaded down as such they set out for the unknown. What would greet them? Hardship and danger? Fortunes beyond their even wildest dreams? To find out, the Crutchfields had to make the journey. From my knowledge of the trip they were making good time with little problem. No issues from Native Americans or wild animals or equipment failure had plagued them. This, however, was about to take a turn for the worse. You see, they headed out in the spring or summer time, however, they didn’t account for the harsh winters one may encounter on the plains of the Midwest. That mistake may very well prove to be fatal. A blizzard struck the family. I can see snow banks several feet deep, winds ripping across the open ground with no shelter, and a family scared of what may befall them now. This father, being a man during this era, had a duty. That duty was to make sure his family was provided for and taken care of to the best of his ability. Today would test his commitment. The oxen tried to stop. They were worn out, cold, and likely would die right where they stood. This man, however, knew that if they stopped, all of them would perish. To keep body heat moving and prevent such a fate, he forced them all to walk. Oxen, wife, and children: everyone. They walked in the snow, wind, and ice for a day or more until the blizzard conditions subsided and they were able to find a decent shelter to make camp and light a fire. They were safe! The rest of the journey was finished and they settled in to their new home. What would have happened had they actually stopped? Would you be reading this story even now? Would I have two beautiful children and another on the way in the womb of my amazing, gorgeous wife? I dare say that none of that would be so if this man had not made the decision to just keep going. My family, along with many others would look much different if not for men and women stepping up in times of trouble and doing just what my great, great, great, great, great grandfather did: just keep going. So, what can you take from this little bit of my family’s history? No matter what life throws at you, just…keep…going. There’s always an end to the valley.

--

--

Ryan Crutchfield

Christ first, family, business. I am a Christ-follower, firefighter/paramedic, entrepreneur, YouTuber, and writer. I blog, read, learn and grow. Follow me