Save your time with Lokalise — A Translation Platform

Ryan NHP
4 min readNov 11, 2019

--

If you ever worked with multi-languages apps, you should meet the difficulty when put translated language in localized files. We already know that this process is no need to cost your time, so I want to introduce to you guys Lokalise, it is an awesome tool to help you save a ton of time, but it’s not free, I think it’s suitable for a company than a personal project.

Some plans for lokalise subscriptions

Firstly, here is the main flow when you want to work with Lokalise

Now, let’s start to work with lokalise

Create Your Project On Lokalise

You can click on + button or “New project” to create a new project on Lokalise

Fill in the information to create a new project

Add Languages To Your Project

Back to your homepage, add languages for your project

You’ll get a popup to select languages

Now, I’ll add Spanish and Italian

Open my Medium project

Assume I already have translations before, so I need to upload these localization files below

Just drop your files to upload it

After drop files to upload, it will detect language automatically.

Now, hit Import the files to start importing

After import files successfully

Now, hit Go to project

Add New Key To Lokalise

Hit Add key on the top right

Now I want to add new key with my base language is English

After adding

Note: Each key has one link, you can copy each key or many keys and send to your translators to work on it

It will show a popup for you with a link that’s easy for you to send it to your translators

Download Keys From Lokalise

It will let you choose some options to download files

Lokalise allows you to choose format and file structure before download it

Scroll down to the bottom of the page

If you select Build and download, it will generate a zip file with all localization files

Select Build only, it will generate a zip file with all localization files and show a popup to ask you for downloading

Select Preview, it opens a link that you can preview your keys

In a nutshell, in my opinion, this tool is really amazing for me and my company and I think it is useful for some companies that launch many features and update the text regularly

Here is my basic introduction to show you the simplest way to add keys to Lokalise and download it to your project. I hope this is useful to you guys

But this way is quite manually, I’ll show you the way to integrate it with Fastlane

Stay tuned!

Other Articles

--

--