Taking the plunge into a new career in Software Engineering

Ryan Sage
2 min readNov 7, 2019

After 12 long weeks of hard work, I am happy to announce that I have officially completed General Assembly’s Software Engineering program!

About 5 months ago, I departed from my IT Business Analyst role of 6+ years. It was difficult, at first, to think that leaving a job that shaped my career and skill set would lead to such a positive outcome. Determination to succeed and work in software development led me to enroll at General Assembly’s Atlanta Campus @ Ponce City Market.

The weeks that followed were not easy. Many late nights working on course assignments, weekends spent researching technologies, and countless hours poured into practicing new development tactics, allowed me to create applications I never thought I could create myself.

By applying my passion for problem solving and self development, I was able to create web applications that I am proud of using technologies like JavaScript, node.js, React, Python, Django, and more. I now possess the confidence to approach software projects of any kind with a willingness to learn and a rekindled drive to overcome the presented obstacles that arise in the development process.

I would like to give a shout out to my classmates, career coaches, and instructors for the support throughout the program. Forming new friendships and being able to work with you all has been a great pleasure! I am also extremely thankful for my wife, Allison, for standing by my side and pushing me to be the best I can be, even when I was at my lowest.

Now that I am in the post graduation phase, I am spending my time refining my skills, improving my current applications, and seeking new job opportunities. I look forward to succeeding in the next chapter of this wild ride we call ‘Life’!

--

--