At the Midpoint

Ryan Siu
2 min readNov 17, 2018

--

Prototype of my project

Halfway through the project, I’ve reached some important milestones — the most important being it works. Here’s my thoughts on what works well, what needs work, and future steps.

What Works Well

The operating system

The most important part of any large software project is maintainability. With a strong codebase that allows me to easily incorporate new software for watch screens and peripheral hardware, I can spend less time in the future adding new features and more time testing/debugging.

Bluetooth

Incorporating Bluetooth into my smartwatch turned out to be easier than expected, thanks to help from example Bluetooth and notification listening apps. I was able to write software that sends a message to my watch from my phone whenever a new notification was pushed to my phone.

Screenshots from the Android app that sends notifications over Bluetooth to my smartwatch

What Needs Improvement

UI/UX

While UI/UX isn’t a huge priority on my current list, I want to make using the smartwatch intuitive. This could mean creating more/better graphics and putting more features on the watch buttons.

Future Steps

More Peripherals

I still haven’t tested the accelerometer, vibration motor, and ItsyBitsy that I plan to use in the final design. I would like to write code for them as soon as possible so I can start the watch assembly.

Assembly

Putting the watch together will be a challenging task. I’ll have to find a way to make the watch as compact as possible taking into account the breakout boards, peripherals, and wires. I plan to use software to help me with keeping track of the wiring, such as Fritzing, to make sure I make the right solder connections.

Casing

Finally, when the watch has been assembled, I’d like to build a case to enclose the electronics and to make it more aesthetically nicer. A case will also increase the life of the electronics by protecting them from wear and tear.

--

--