Navigating Fatherhood and Mental Health: Overcoming Challenges Amidst Divorce

Obeaswan, B.Sc., M.Sc.
5 min readNov 5, 2023

Being a father is a role that brings immense joy and fulfillment, but it can also present unique challenges, especially when combined with severe mental injuries and the complexities of a divorce. In this article, I will share my personal journey as a father, grappling with severe mental injuries, specifically bipolar disorder with psychotic features, as I strive to find balance between being a good father and addressing my own broken pieces.

1. Understanding the Impact of Mental Health:

Living with bipolar disorder with psychotic features has profoundly affected my ability to navigate daily life, including my role as a father. The emotional toll and moral injuries I experience can make it difficult to maintain a sense of stability and confidence. It is crucial to recognize that mental health struggles do not define my worth as a father, and seeking understanding and support is essential.

When I was first diagnosed with bipolar disorder, I felt overwhelmed and unsure of how it would impact my ability to be a good father. The fear of not being able to provide…

--

--

Obeaswan, B.Sc., M.Sc.

Just a resident SEER, Keeper of the North, Druid Of Doirecoll. Veteran, motivational articles, mental health and LGTBQ Advocate