Unlocking the Dreamworld: A Personal Journey into Lucid Dreaming and Techniques for Exploration

Obeaswan, B.Sc., M.Sc.
2 min readApr 26, 2024

Lucid dreaming has been a fascinating and transformative experience for me, allowing me to explore the depths of my subconscious mind and unlock a world of endless possibilities while I sleep. In simple terms, lucid dreaming is the phenomenon in which the dreamer becomes aware that they are dreaming while still in the dream state. This awareness grants the dreamer a sense of control over their dreams, enabling them to manipulate the dream environment, characters, and events.

Achieving lucid dreaming can be a challenging but rewarding endeavor. Through my own journey, I have discovered several techniques that have helped me enhance my lucid dreaming experiences:

  1. Reality Checks: Performing reality checks throughout the day can help train your mind to question whether you are dreaming or awake. Common reality checks include trying to push your finger through your palm, looking at a clock or text, and trying to breathe with your nose pinched shut. By making reality checks a habit, you may carry this critical awareness into your dream state.

2. Keep a Dream Journal: Keeping a dream journal by your bedside and recording your dreams as soon as you wake up can help improve dream recall and identify recurring dream signs or patterns. By…

--

--

Obeaswan, B.Sc., M.Sc.

Just a resident SEER, Keeper of the North, Druid Of Doirecoll. Veteran, motivational articles, mental health and LGTBQ Advocate