How to Use Padlet for Language Learning In 2023

It’s free, easy to use, and digital

Sarah Mathrick
7 min readMay 19, 2023
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

The way we learn languages has changed since I started learning my first foreign language at school back in the 90s.

I started learning French with the help of textbooks (Encore Tricolore) and learning labs. It seemed like an abstract concept to me at the time, and it wasn’t until I first went to stay with a French family (aged around 11) that I got a real taste for the language and culture.

Nowadays, language learning is very different. Language learners can choose from an array of applications, online exercises, series and films, podcasts and digital content to further their language learning.

For me, in the last year of school, the only “authentic” French content I consumed came from listening to Europe 1 in the evenings on medium wave (or was it long wave?) and watching clips of the JT de 13 heures (lunchtime news) and old episodes of Un gars, une fille during my A-level French lessons. We even went on a trip to London to watch a “real” French film at the cinema.

With technological advances, language learning is much more accessible and much less abstract.

However, with so many possibilities for learning languages, it’s easy to get overwhelmed. Back in the day, it was…

--

--

Sarah Mathrick

ESL teacher | Expat | Freelancer | Millennial | Mother | Musician | Serial entrepreneur | Translator