How To Include Billing on Android

Set up your InApp Purchase inside the Google Play Console

Stephen Vinouze
5 min readSep 1, 2019
Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

Adding a payment system on any platform is a critical step that needs extra care. It often raises several questions :

  • How do I add my products to my application?
  • Can I smoothly test my purchases?
  • How to distinguish Test purchases from Real purchases?
  • Will I be charged while testing my purchase flow?

Although there are different payment systems that you may choose to include in your application, this article is only about the native billing system. Also if you have no technical background, that’s ok 🙂. This article is not about how to develop but rather how to configure your billing.

We assume here that you have already developed your InApp Purchase (IAP) process. If that is not the case, I wrote an Android library that can bootstrap your project with it.

Let’s break it down so that you feel comfortable when shipping your product to the store. Now…

--

--

Stephen Vinouze

✍️ Content creator | 👀 200k Views | 🤖 Keen interest in Android and Jetpack Compose | 🤝 Support me: https://medium.com/@s.vinouze/membership