Ghanaian Tsofi (Turkey Tail)-An interesting part of a Turkey’s anatomy

dangerously delicious if you don’t know what you’re eating!

Stella Oni
2 min readJul 11, 2018

--

A while ago, I was at a friend’s surprise party and, in my usual fashion, went to take a look at the table’s bounteous offerings. The trick for someone that loves food like me is to ensure I eat in small bites, and as food lovers know, that is a bit hard to achieve.

I spied a big platter of tasty fried chicken among the offerings, and it smelt good! I hovered around it and snatched one that promptly disappeared down my mouth in one bite( sorry, I’m not a dainty eater, my Nigerian boarding school paid put to that).

I closed my eyes in awe and reverence at the intense burst of flavour that increased as I chewed. This was the most well-seasoned chicken I had ever tasted. I snatched 4 more onto my plate and perched in a corner like a puppy with a bone and the countenance that said interrupt this one woman chicken party at your peril.

Once the last of the bites had disappeared down to my grateful stomach, I washed it down with some wine and then beamed at everyone in satisfaction. Then I gave the cook lavish compliments that were graciously accepted.

Later on, as we drove back home, I continued to wax lyrics about the delicious…

--

--

Stella Oni

My writing focuses on Food, Self-help, and Technology. Growing up with my grandmother kindled a profound passion for food and fuels my ongoing curiosity.