Week 5: Heartstrings in Lima — Finding Home

Saanvi Ram
5 min readJul 7, 2024

--

Didn’t I just post last week’s blog…?

Time here dances curiously, blending each day into a rhythm that feels remarkably like home. Just recently, I checked in with a friend from Dubuque who remarked, “You’re settling in,” noting how I refer to my host family’s house as “home.”

So where has this beautiful internship has brought me? Let’s retrace the steps.

I am seventeen.

Living alone.

In a foreign country.

For the first time in my life.

Life needs to be a series of risks, but this is my biggest one yet. Oddly, fear and nerves never knocked on my door. I’ve asked myself why countless times, and I think the answer lies in a quiet anticipation that has been bubbling up through my high school years. The longing for an adventure, a chance to step beyond the familiar and make a mark somewhere, anywhere. When this all-expenses-paid internship popped up on my radar, I threw my name into the ring with a really hopeful shrug. And now, here I am, navigating this new world, finding out what it means to call a place home, even if it’s just for now.

This week, I discovered new friendships in the most delightful ways — a kind girl in her early 20s and my mentors, with whom I’ve grown closer. Despite my Duolingo vocabulary hovering around 200 essential Spanish words, I’ve found that friendship can connect through language barriers. Here, Google Translate has to be my most-used app. Conversations outside my work team unfold through translation, often at lunch, where we exchange messages while sharing real-time expressions. Communication becomes a dance of digital words and heartfelt smiles, proving that genuine connections need no perfect language.

In the lab, each day brings new challenges and discoveries. This week, I received a fresh batch of Potato Leafroll Virus plasmids, setting the stage for a series of intricate gel electrophoresis experiments. Working with these plasmids required a meticulous approach and a steady hand. The initial steps involved preparing the samples by centrifuging the plasmids to ensure a uniform solution, followed by carefully measuring and mixing the appropriate reagents for the gel. The process demanded precision and patience. Preparing the agarose gel required dissolving the agarose powder in a buffer solution and heating it until fully liquified, then carefully pouring it into a mold and allowing it to solidify. Once the gel was ready, I prepared the samples with a loading dye, using a micropipette to transfer exact volumes into the tiny wells of the gel. The first time I filled those gel wells, my hands shook with anticipation, knowing that any mistake could compromise the entire experiment. As the electrophoresis chamber hummed to life, I monitored the migration of the DNA fragments under the influence of the electric field. The separation process was fascinating to watch, as the DNA bands gradually became visible under UV light. Interpreting the results required careful analysis to ensure that the insertions were clean and correctly positioned within the plasmid vectors.

Gel electrophoresis!

Each successful insertion felt like a small victory. Achieving clean and precise bands on the gel was not just a matter of technical skill, but also an indication that my understanding of the procedures was deepening. I grew more confident with each run, refining my technique and learning to troubleshoot issues such as sample contamination or buffer inconsistencies.

Of course, my week would not be complete without the usual exploring. This week, my host family and I went to Miraflores. Our first stop was the bustling Inca Markets. Among the treasures, I marveled at the beautiful instruments crafted from wood, each one unique and resonant with the sounds of Peruvian music. Rows upon rows of llama statues and stuffed animals, ranging from tiny keychains to life-sized replicas, captured the essence of the Andean landscape. The market was a sensory overload, with the fragrant scent of local spices and the melodic sounds of traditional music filling the air. It was a delightful dive into the heart of Peruvian craftsmanship and culture.

There was so much graffiti in Miraflores. I absolutely loved looking at all of it.

After immersing ourselves in the market’s lively atmosphere, we made our way to the Larcomar, an architectural marvel perched on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Larcomar is a modern shopping center with a blend of upscale boutiques, gourmet restaurants, and entertainment venues. As we strolled through its open-air corridors, the cool ocean breeze provided a refreshing respite from the busy market. We enjoyed the sweeping panoramic views of the ocean, with waves crashing against the cliffs below. This juxtaposition of natural beauty and modern luxury made for a memorable experience, blending the vibrant energy of Lima’s cultural scene with the tranquility of its coastal landscape.

Larcomar :)

My host family offered to let me pick the place for lunch, so I convinced them to take a little detour to a nearby Indian restaurant I had heard about. As we stepped into the cozy Indian eatery, the aromatic spices instantly transported me back to my mom’s kitchen. I ordered a classic warm naan and a mango lassi. It felt like a warm hug from home. The rich flavors and familiar spices were exactly what I needed.

With our appetites satisfied, we spent the afternoon exploring the various shops and boutiques in Larcomar. As the sun began to set, casting a golden glow over the ocean, we took a stroll along the Malecón, the scenic promenade that runs through Miraflores. The view was breathtaking, with paragliders soaring above and surfers catching the last waves of the day below. We paused at the Parque del Amor, a beautifully designed park celebrating love and romance, adorned with colorful mosaics and a striking sculpture of an embracing couple.

So here I am, at the intersection of foreign streets and familiar tastes, learning that home isn’t just a place. It’s a feeling that follows you, a spice that lingers on your tongue, a smile that bridges languages, and an adventure that challenges you to grow. Here’s to more discoveries, more connections, and more moments that make this city feel like a second home.

--

--

Saanvi Ram

My name is Saanvi Ram and I am a Borlaug Ruan International Intern. Follow along as I post a weekly blog of my two month experience at CIP in Lima, Peru! :)