Saanvi Ram
4 min readJun 19, 2024

Week 2: Suspended in Time — Life in Lima’s Bubble

Living in Lima feels like being suspended in time, in a bubble where the hours float by unnoticed. Ten days have slipped away from me like a fleeting moment at the peak of a mountain. Is it the high altitude that distorts my sense of time, or perhaps my perception has simply expanded beyond its usual limits? Life here moves swiftly, leaving me to wonder how much more of Peru I get to experience.

This past weekend, my spirit of adventure led me to two of Lima’s most enchanting districts. Miraflores, with its stunning coastal views and vibrant atmosphere, captivated my senses from the moment I arrived. Wandering through its bustling streets, I was struck by the juxtaposition of modernity and tradition, as sleek high-rises stood alongside charming colonial buildings.

Venturing further into Lima Downtown, I found myself transported back in time. The historic heart of the city boasts a wealth of architectural treasures, from ornate churches to grand plazas. As I explored its labyrinthine streets, I felt as though I had stepped into a different era, where the past and present coexist in perfect harmony. But it wasn’t just the sights that took my breath away. The sounds of street vendors hawking their wares, the tantalizing aroma of freshly grilled anticuchos and savory empanadas wafting through the air, the laughter and chatter of locals going about their day — all of these sensations combined will stay with me forever.

As I strolled through the vibrant streets of Lima, I encountered a delightful interaction with a young local girl that warmed my heart and reminded me of home. She couldn’t have been more than five years old, yet her presence was captivating. With her cute braids adorned with colorful Peruvian ribbons, she exuded a sense of innocence and charm that instantly drew me in. Despite our language barrier, she eagerly approached me, speaking in a charming mix of English and Spanish. She greeted me with a cheerful “Hola!” and as I responded with a smile, she continued, “¿Cómo estás?” Her curiosity and friendliness were infectious, and even though our conversation was limited, I felt a sense of connection with her. I regret not asking for her name, but I will always remember her as the ribbon-haired girl who brightened my day.

As I navigated the language barrier with a smile, I found myself drawn to the faces of the people around me. Eyes, they say, are the windows to the soul, and never before had I paid such close attention to the silent conversations happening around me. The power of a smile, a furrowed brow, or a raised eyebrow became clear to me as I learned to read not just words, but gestures and expressions. In these fleeting moments of connection, I discovered a new way of understanding and communicating, one that went beyond language and culture.

Now, as part of my role as a Borlaug Ruan International Intern…

At CIP, I am working under Moctar Kante, where I will lay the groundwork for a simplified and efficient Agrobacterium tumefaciens electroporation, following Evelin Kámán‐Tóth et al.’s approach. This method aims to streamline DNA transfer into plant cells using Agrobacterium, a key tool in plant molecular biology. Unlike traditional liquid culture methods, this approach involves suspending bacterial cells directly from overnight agar plate cultures, optimizing various parameters for simplicity and efficiency. It also has the potential to introduce ligated plasmids directly into Agrobacterium, bypassing the E. coli transformation step and speeding up cloning. I’m excited to continue and fully immerse myself in this lab experience over the next six weeks.

In addition to my lab work, I’ve also been involved in activities at the greenhouses and screen houses at CIP. My responsibilities include separating mother tubers and categorizing them based on physical properties.

For more context on what a typical day looks like for me, I’ve included a “Day in the Life” video below.

Lima, with all its beauty and vibrancy, has truly captured a piece of my soul, and I can’t wait to see where this journey will take me next.

¡Espero volver a escribir en el blog la próxima semana! ¡adiós por ahora!

-Saanvi

Saanvi Ram

My name is Saanvi Ram and I am a Borlaug Ruan International Intern. Follow along as I post a weekly blog of my two month experience at CIP in Lima, Peru! :)