Why did I start writing on Medium with my 9–5 job?

The clock ticked, rain drumming on the window. As I sipped my coffee, a knock sounded on my office door. “Come in,” I said.

Saba
3 min readMar 16, 2024

My student entered. I offered her a seat. With a smile, I asked about her health and studies. Her expression spoke volumes; she needed someone to listen.

(To protect her privacy, let’s call her Miss ABC.)

Miss ABC explained that her mother was bedridden with kidney problems, hindering her ability to focus on upcoming exams. It was then I realized my role as a university lecturer extended beyond academics — to offering emotional support as well.

Despite my existential crisis that day, Miss ABC’s pain, evident in her voice, pushed my worries aside. I dedicated my time to her, focusing on uplifting her spirits and offering any assistance I could. I listened patiently, allowing her to vent before offering any questions.

The moment she said, “Ma’am, that’s all,” I hugged her and told her it was perfectly okay not to be okay. I reassured her that her mother would recover, and I offered a silent prayer for her well-being.

“Hope is all you need to keep going,” I encouraged her.

I believe in you,” I affirmed, confident in her abilities to ace the final exam.

“Just go home, relax, and visualize yourself passing the exam with flying colors,” I advised. Her eyes lit up the moment I said, “I know you can. Chin up!”

A month later, she sent me her results with amazing news — she scored exceptionally well. She thanked me for listening to her and believing in her.

The reason I share this story is the valuable lesson it taught me. I discovered that everyone needs someone to confide in, a safe space to express their deepest feelings without fear of judgment.

While I was grappling with my existential crisis, I met Miss ABC. She needed what I had to offer: a listening ear and encouraging words, delivered with genuine empathy.

I have always enjoyed listening to people and reading their stories. Real-life narratives have fascinated me for a long time.

Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

My love for writing began in the fourth grade when I would pour my feelings into a daily diary. However, the fear of judgment led me to destroy those diaries later on.

I openly share my experiences with family, friends, and even students. This openness is why my sister encouraged me to join Medium and share my stories.

I’m a constant learner, reflecting on my experiences and gleaning wisdom from others. That’s why I also wanted to connect with other writers on Medium and explore their stories. I am also hopeful that this will provide some financial benefits.

So, if you are reading this and need to vent, I am here to listen. Don’t hesitate to share your story. Write on.

--

--

Saba

Quiet heart with a writer's soul. Weaving real-life experiences into words, finding connection through listening, reading, and writing.