Enoughism

Sabine Straver (Sabine)
4 min readJan 24, 2019

--

What is an Enoughism? Well, it is a term I came up with after my research into Minimalism. Which I am sure is also a term someone invented at one stage, Minimalism originally starting with the arts and home décor which more recently has become more linked to the movement of people who choose to that live with less.

I love Decluttering, Organizing and I love Minimalism, however, my gripe with a lot of these things is that it is challenging and doesn’t fit everyone’s comfort levels, stages in life etc. I can see myself live as a strong minimalist in 10 or 20 years’ time when it is just me and Hubby at home or travelling the world. However, at this point in time, I am in the trenches of family life and that is not to say that you can not live like a minimalist as a family, many people show you can (like Leo Babauta and Joshua Becker).

For me, minimalism is having very little items which I would honestly like it is currently not the reality of my life. So, I came up with the term “enoughism” during a short trip away when I was somewhat frustrated by the sheer volume of things you need to be comfortable even on a short trip. Things like appropriate clothing for the climate, food utensils, sunscreen, hat or winter gear if you have a winter break. We had different bags for different purposes and seeing it was summer when we had our getaway, we would have really enhanced our holiday if we took the body boards with us (aka if we took more stuff with us).

Definition of enoughism

To me, enoughism is having just what you need to be comfortable and prepared for the day(s) ahead. It means you have appropriate/comfortable accommodation, with sufficient resources to; sleep, eat, clean yourself, learn, grow, work and play.

This coincidentally also strongly aligns with my personal mission statement, win-win.

Like minimalism, it tries to steer us away from mindless capitalism and gets us thinking about what we truly need at this point in time.

In enoughism

In enoughism one of the prevailing questions is do I have enough to be comfortable and competent in what I am about to undertake? If the answer is yes then you are on your way.

The next questions could be;

· Do I have too much that doesn’t suit my purpose at this point in time?

· Do I have good tools to do the job? (I am deliberately refraiming from stating “the best” tools as this will move us into an area where marketing and capitalism can run rampant. The best is always only one purchase away of course).

· Can I / do I want to upgrade or refine what I have to help me do the job? This allows us to still touch the sides of materialism but also focusses on quality of the items and tools we use on our journey.

What enoughism means in practice

This means that yes cut as much of the excess stuff away as possible.

It also means that whilst you are sunbathing in Tahiti as an enoughist, having just enough and the right items to make your life comfortable. Your snow gear is gathering dust at home at the same time and you know what? This is okay, because in six months whilst you are in the snow — the Tahiti gear is not used.

In enoughism, you end up with “bubbles” or compartments of great quality, useful items you love and use. Within these bubbles, some are currently used and some aren’t this is okay. You will keep an eye out for all these things and will close a bubble and remove the items from your life when things shift. Once you no longer ski you give your gear away. When you no longer fit the bikini from your Tahiti holiday 10 years ago you will dispose of it. When the kids have outgrown their baby stuff you let go and move on.

“Bubble of Enougism”

So in the ever-expanding landscape of decluttering, organising and minimalism I hope this notion of enoughism can shed some light on why as someone in the spring or summer time of their life can find it challenging to be a “strict minimalist” or to have at any one time only items that spark joy (maybe the bikini still sparks joy when I am taking on the ski slopes, it is however not very practical — I have to check with Marie Kondo on this ;-).

Enoughism is to simply ask yourself the question at this point in time do I have enough? If the answers is; yes, you are a perfectly acting enoughist in action. If the answer is you need something to make yourself comfortable and functioning better, get it.

Irrespective I say well done, you are an accomplished enoughist!

--

--

Sabine Straver (Sabine)

A Professional Organiser with a flair for academia and technology. Let’s not only get organised but also think about what this means declutter-and-organize.com