The Journey: Starting My First Scientific Journal!

sabrina
2 min readFeb 7, 2024

--

(Actually, it is not. I have already published one journal under my name back in my undergraduate studies.)

Hello there, my name is Sabrina Ghaida, though people refer to me as Sabe for short. I’m in my first semester as a Master’s student majoring in Nanotechnology at Bandung Institute of Technology (ITB). My journey began when I graduated from Padjadjaran University (UNPAD) last year with a Bachelor of Science degree majoring in Physics where I learned about nanoscience and nanotechnology, this led me to pursue advanced studies in this field.

One of the requirements to graduate with a Master's Degree at ITB is to publish publications or journals, where quite hard as I experienced in my undergraduate studies. Thus, I want to take the Scientific Journal Writing Techniques (Teknik Penulisan Jurnal Ilmiah) course to learn better how to write and produce a scientific journal so I can publish at least one later. As I said “later”, I need to know basic ones so that when the day I have a topic or research comes, I already know how to produce one.

I’m interested in the characterization of synthesized nanomaterials, arising from my previous thesis work. I want to draft a publication focused on this area, aiming to contribute to the advancement of nanotechnology research to support my thesis later.

My future topic thesis is about nanomaterials for solar cells and energy. but since I am still in my first semester, I am still exploring what topic I can explore later.

In all honesty, I’m still exploring my options, but I chose Nature Nanotechnology to submit my draft. Its reputation and focus on nanotechnology align well with my research. Considering its reputation, I think it will be great to publish the journal there.

--

--