WE THE CHAMPS!

Sabrina Moella
2 min readJul 4, 2019

#WeTheNorthDay in a nutshell:

1) I was wearing this cool t-shirt designed by the one and only Anique Jordan. She might or might not have some left. Hit her dm.

2)Your girl Bina was in the middle of this shooting mess at Bay/Queen/Albert when it happened. Thank God, I’m blessed and highly favoured. I am NOT going down on the first day of summer like that. Nope. Otherwise, who’s gonna entertain you all summer? #NotTodaySatan

3) Marc Gasol is bae. He reminds me of my Spanish crew in Paris when we were living la vida loca back in the days.Those who know know. Jajaja 😊

4)When Ibaka entered the main stage with that giant flag of Afrika. Screams! He made us proud. All the Congolese were losing it. The only reason I didn’t ask him to marry me on the spot was that I got grossly interrupted by gun shots on my left (see point #2)

5) Kawhi can get it 🤷🏾‍♀️👀 Dem quiet dudes are always the best ones 😁

6) I was standing next to a guy that had a “I want my chips with dip” t-shirt. 😂Drizzy gave us quotes and memes for days.

7) My black ass should have known this parade was gonna be late AF.

8) Shout out to the older Black woman who covered my body with hers cause she didn’t want me to get injured after we experienced 2 shootings back to back. Black women are the real MVPs. Write that down. Black women are the real MVPs.

9) Anyway. So much happened today and I’m a storyteller so of course, at some point, you’ll get a short story… Or maybe this post is the short story. I’m experimenting with new forms. Lol

10) What a day, what a day, Toronto! #WeTheChamps

11) Thank you for coming to my TED talk! 😊

PS: This was originally published on my Facebook on June 17th. I am saving it on here too for my personal archives as I tend to delete Twitter and FB posts over time.

--

--

Sabrina Moella

👩🏾‍🎤Busy writing another novel in 2024. 📖