Sacha Greif
1 min readJan 29, 2017

--

I think point 2 and 3 about evangelism and refocusing are important. Compared to a few years ago, Meteor has improved leaps and bound from a technical standpoint. But paradoxically, the framework’s value proposition is far less obvious than it used to be.

In other words, if someone asked me today why they should use Meteor, I wouldn’t be able to give a simple, convincing answer. I’m sure the build tool has a lot of potential, but right now it still lacks some of Webpack’s key features. Livedata used to be a big reason to use Meteor, but now Apollo is “better” (I use quotes because it does depend on your use case) and is also platform-agnostic. Same with Blaze and React, Minimongo and Redux…

At this point I think the part of Meteor that provides the most obvious value is actually the drop-in account system, but up to now I don’t think it has been a huge focus on MDG’s part.

So if Meteor wants to keep growing in 2017, I think the challenge will be putting all these little pieces together into a coherent message.

--

--

Sacha Greif

Designer/developer from Paris, now living in Osaka. Creator of Sidebar, VulcanJS, and co-author of Discover Meteor.