Words, Glorious Words…What Do They Mean?

Sadaf k
2 min readApr 16, 2024

--

Photo by Maxim Berg from Unsplash

Sometimes I don’t want to write to make sense. I want to feel nonsensical, expose faulty logic, and use incorrect usage of grammar and punctuation. It’s draining and descends into negativity, but Medium wants high-quality content to get curated. And I highly respect that. Yet in this piece, I’m taking a break from traditional writing and diving into a nonsensical exploration.

The thing is life often revolves around making sense. But tell me how to make sense when life is meaningless and so do words.

I present you my thought experimentation. Make sense of the given piece. Like me, you will go through words of angst.

Fragment 1:

Libby and Maria. They are like rusty coins, shining with an unsettling light, sun one moment, unnerving moon the next. For others, they are a comfort, a source of fear, all at once. But for me, they are modernity’s children, and fright is their game.

Fragment 2:

One, two, three, four. ‘We are trapped,’ says Libby to Maria, and continues, ‘counting the bars of our gilded cage. We were one, then two. Now a fractured four. Is this growth? Or a twisted mockery?’

Fragment 3:

“We are messed up, nowhere to be heard of. Maria wondered. We are lost in a world that thrives on the new, the shiny. Four isn’t beautiful, Libby knows, and so am I. Four is…incomplete.”

Fragment 4:

It is their metamorphosis.

One, two, three, four…

(Fade to silence)

--

--