Why “Free Websites” And “Free Domains” Are Usually Scams

Why domains/websites cost money basically

5LT — Some Linux NERD
3 min readDec 9, 2018

Now we are talking about free domains. From companies I will mention for context. Now usually when people say “Free Domain” they usually mean “A domain paid in hosting”. Why is this? Well this is because the International Corporation of Assigning Names and Numbers also known as ICANN has basically a monopoly on domains. How? They own the rights to every single domain extention (except a few ones that cannot be accessed by normal browsers such as .onion sites which are accessed by Tor). But why are they so powerful? Becuase companies want their own extention. Let’s say I want a domain and I am a CEO of a large company. I buy a domain, but pay ICANN $0.18 per month for the domain and I cannot registar it myself because it will be classified as illegal because ICANN owns the rights to almost ALL domain extentions. But what if I want to make one? Well I can pay ICANN $180,000 for one, OR I can make one and have people registar it from me, but that’s hard because I will be targeted for having the monopoly for that extention, I know, ironic. But why does all of this matter? Well this article is not about ICANN, they basically don’t matter here. What does matter is Freenom domains, and other “free” domains/websites.

Domains cost money to registar right? Well ICANN sets these for “free” .ga .ml .tk .gq and .cf which are all ccTLD’s BUT domain registars do need to make money for selling domains. Well here’s the deal. If they make the shitty domains free, then they might not show up on Google, making it hard for new businesses to grow so they buy the actually good TLD’s.

“But what about BiSoga and Invitiga, they show up on Google.” You the reader might be saying. Well they have a good DNS, a free one from Cloudflare which I too, use commonly. But it is super limited if you don’t pay. They also look very cheap for using the free domain. “But what about you Safyre? Aren’t some of your domains .ga” Yes. But here’s the thing, I am not allowed a job until I am 16, and I don’t earn anything from Medium.com which leads me to my next point.

Crowd funding your website. Tourani was funded off a dead debit card I thought died years ago but no. So it will only be around for a year until I can renew it. Which I am using touranipl.xyz as a temportary site until I can pay for a .org domain from somewhere. I also do not use Freenom anymore UNLESS I am editing a website or doing “free” work for “clients” who need websites. I am using Patreon for my company, but it wont last if it earns nothing. Which a lot of Patreon accounts get. Nothing.

If you like these articles, please donate, I am unable to keep my member only articles going because they did not help me. So now, please if you want to see more donate to my company SLM&T on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/safyrelyonsMT which helps me get these articles funded. If you don’t want to, then don’t but it will help me a lot. I won’t mention it often but when I need to I will.

--

--

5LT — Some Linux NERD

Some idiot who owns many websites, more than the average human.