5 Life Lessons I Learned From Overestimating My Health

We are humans and not superheroes, we need others to survive.

Dian Sage
6 min readNov 25, 2022
Photo by A. L. on Unsplash

How can that be? I am ill? I cannot believe it. In the last few decades of my life, I have rarely fallen ill. Even the 2020 pandemic has not affected my health.

But last Monday I got a cough. This little thing is enough to give me a fever and make me go to bed early for a few days. What’s going on here? I sensed it was not me.

Did I overestimate my health? Because I had a healthy lifestyle, Did I thought I was immune to any kind of illness. Was I?

This situation made me realize. No one in this world is immune to everything. No matter how healthy someone looks, the risk remains.

Here are 5 lessons I learned after this situation:

1. We are human beings and not a superhero

Do you like superhero movies? When I was a child, I loved watching superhero movies. Even now I like watching hero movies like Wonder Woman and Avengers. I love strong characters, intelligence and fearless women.

But a movie is a movie. It is not real life. Life as a human being is different. We are social people and live in a society. We need others to survive. If you work in a team, you can not be a…

--

--

Dian Sage

5X Top Writer, Tea Lover, Life Coach & Lifelong Learner. — I write about self-improvement, life lessons, mental health & well-being. https://ko-fi.com/diansage