No-code tools are here to stay!

Sahil Khosla
6 min readJul 26, 2021

My experience building a Slack bot using Tray.io.

I had an opportunity to explore Tray.io as an option to build a micro-service a few weeks ago. There is no question that I was skeptical at first — probably to do with the fact that I have always used such tools (Zappier, IFTT, etc.) for hacks and fun side-projects.

As I began diving deeper, I was genuinely surprised by the capabilities of the platform. It was a bit of a learning curve at first but I got over that pretty quickly. It definitely helps that I have years of professional experience as a software engineer. Nonetheless, with basic knowledge of software development and a bit of training, anyone can use it to make meaningful contributions.

🎯 What was the goal?

The original goal was to build a micro-service with the sole purpose of integrating with a third-party API. The endpoints would allow us to perform certain tasks like fetching/updating user data (GET) and uploading documents (POST) to users’ profiles in that third-party software.

But, instead of jumping straight into building the micro-service, I decided to start small just to get comfortable with the platform. I noticed that Tray.io comes with a Slack integration so I decided to leverage that.

--

--

Sahil Khosla

Multipotentiality | Leadership | Productivity | Technology | Lifestyle 🤹‍♀️