The indie soundtrack of a failed romance

Samantha Rosa
2 min readOct 4, 2016

--

Here's the actual playlist in Spotify. Below is the closest to poetry I've ever been to. I see it as a 'musical collage', a form of trying to create art from what others have created before :)

***

Help I’m alive my heart keeps beating like a hammer. You got this look I can’t describe, you make me feel I’m alive when everything else is so fake. I can tell just what you want, you don’t want to be alone. You don’t have my number, we don’t need each other now. A cold and frosty morning there’s not a lot to say about the things caught in my mind.

One of these games, you're gonna loose but you wanna play it just in case. I’m standing on the top of a parking lot, I gave it all I had, show me what you got? Why’d you only call me when you’re high? I see the look inside your eyes, we can make it if we try. And I always thought I would end up with you eventually. But you and I have come from the same long line, good kids with a devil side.

Same song, again and again. You wrong me twice and I keep coming back. You don’t like me, you just want the attention. I sat by the ocean and drank the potion, baby, to erase you. Is it too late now to say sorry? You only live once. And now everything goes my way. I got a very good friend who says he can’t believe the love I give is not enough to end your fears.

How did it end up like this? It was only a kiss. You can have it all, but then what's left for me? I think I’m cool enough, but am I cruel enough for you? Do you recall, not long ago, we would walk on the sidewalk, innocent, remember? All we did was care for each other. And you have never been in love until you seen the stars reflect in the reservoirs.

You don't have to be so cruel. I'd come if you asked me to. Why can’t it be easy, easy? Why don’t you leave me, leave me be? Feels like we only go backwards, darling.

No, I don’t love you. No, I don’t care. I just want to be held when I’m scared. Our love was long so long and then forgotten like an old song. One look in your eyes, and I won’t have to fall, you don’t have to speak at all. Love is a losing game.

--

--

Samantha Rosa

I’m a Brazilian Designer leading the creation of experiences that deliver positive social change to organizations — sahrosa.com