Untold: The Girlfriend Who Didn’t Exist

Saige Craven
2 min readMar 21, 2023

--

I watched this movie awhile ago, when it first came out, and my opinion and thoughts have changed a lot now after watching it a second time. I think this has to do with the knowledge and understanding that I have gained about the social media world since then. Overall, this movie/documentary is well scripted and executed. The first time I watched it, I watched it out of pure entertainment, but this time I was able to watch it with a different perspective. By watching it the second time around, I was able to observe it from the media aspect. After watching it a second time, I think that it is easy to see how much power the media has in these types of situations. This is a story that is sensitive and personal and the fact that the media was able to spread it as fast as they did and even make a movie about it just goes to show the impact the media can have on any situation. The people most at fault for this are the large media corporations that exploited this story without hesitation and thinking about this would forever impact people’s lives. After the media gets ahold of situations like this, it is impossible to hide it. To put it into perspective, this is something that Manti Te’o will never outlive due to the coverage of the media. Another thought that formed in my head throughout the whole movie was how may people this happens to on the daily. Although, they are getting better, there is really no way to prevent cat-fishing through social media apps. I know that it is a difficult thing to accomplish, but I think that this movie goes to show that there needs to be more restrictions on social media that will help to prevent this tragic situations in the future.

--

--