Journey of Vikram Rana

SAIL
4 min readMar 15, 2019

--

Short Introduction

I, Vikram Rana graduated from IIT Guwahati with B.Tech degree in Electronics & Communication engineering in 2008. I currently work as a Manufacturing Engineer for one of the complex Schlumberger drilling tools in Stonehouse, UK. Prior to my current position, I worked as Electrical engineer and Test engineer in Houston and Singapore respectively.

In my personal time I prefer to write and/or perform. I published my first novel, The Equation of my love in 2011 and I am currently working on my second.

How did you get into Schlumberger?

I was selected for Schlumberger during campus placements.

How did experiences in IITG help you in getting the job and at your work places?

The experiences in IIT shaped my personality in various ways. The embarrassment in Electronics lab assignments taught me to keep trying. Managing Infrastructure team in Techniche and Mr. & Miss Alcheringa team in Alcheringa contributed towards time and people management. The academics provided me the fundamental knowledge of my field and CGPA highlighted the importance of achieving objectives. Last but not least hostel life taught me how to have fun.

These experiences helped me become a confident person and improved my social skills. Technical expertise is a prerequisite in any technical field but it is also equally important to express yourself clearly, concisely, and correctly. This is where the soft skills prove to be advantageous.

Simply put your job description?

The job description at our company website describes my job as mentioned below

Manufacturing Engineers are always looking for better ways of doing a job. They interface with engineering, technology, and manufacturing groups to produce high-quality Schulmberger products faster, more efficiently and safely, and at lower costs.

As a Manufacturing Engineer at Schlumberger, you may be involved in designing new processes or methodologies. Or you may evaluate existing ones and oversee their implementation. You’ll be in an ideal position to use hands-on engineering to try out new ideas and track the results.

I agree with it.

Can you tell us something about how your typical day looks like?

A typical day at work comprises of

1) Emails/Sticky Notes/Phone Messages — Browse through the messages to identify the important ones and act on them

2) Interaction with the team — Checking up with the junior staff to ensure all is well. Also, to help anyone technically or as required.

3) Meetings (Production, Project, Briefing) — Calling/Attending meetings to provide and receive feedback on projects, work, and other activities.

4) Work — As mentioned in the job description a chunk of the time is spent in identifying, developing, and implementing solutions to either solve a technical issue or to improve the current production process in terms of on time delivery, quality, cost, and/or safety.

5) Learning — Being an industry leader, Schlumberger provides so many opportunities to learn both in technical and in management fields. I try to make use of them.

Yes! I do take my breaks and lunch. The working environment in the EMS (non-field environment) front of Schlumberger is pretty flexible and relaxed.

What does your company/institute look for in its potential employees/candidates?

Since Schlumberger has so many locations and so many jobs in each location, it really requires its employee to be a good listener, communicator, and a quick learner. You should know what you claim to know. In both field and EMS jobs technical expertise is equally required and appreciated. Therefore, an employee must know his subject and be willing to learn new fields. Lastly, a positive attitude and a pleasant personality certainly help.

Can you tell us one thing that you love the most and hate the most about your job?

One thing I really love about the job is the opportunities & resources provided in the company to learn and to become better at what you want/need to. I was a decent student during college but quite honestly, I have improved my technical knowledge at work a lot.

I will not say I hate it but at times I don’t quite enjoy the tedious task of documentation. However, in a technical company that often moves its people it is quite important that everything is documented properly for business continuity.

Tips for students

I will advise students to

1. Enjoy your time in college

2. Make an effort and grasp the fundamentals of your field/department. They matter.

3. Be clear about your choices (Job/Higher Studies/Entrepreneurship) and work towards them.

4. Develop and improve your soft skills (presentation/communication). Not only will they help during placement but also in the later years.

I wish everyone the very best for your endeavors.

Vikram Rana

IIT G (2004–08)

--

--

SAIL

Student Alumni Interaction linkage, IIT Guwahati. We are an engaging and mutually beneficial link between IIT Guwahati student Fraternity and Alumni Community.