Eat that frog with Pomodoro

Saim Umer
2 min readMar 3, 2020

--

Pomodoro Technique Chart

The Pomodoro Technique is a time management method developed by Francesco Cirillo in the late 1980's. The technique uses a timer to break down work into intervals, traditionally 25 minutes in length, separated by short breaks. Each interval is known as a pomodoro, from the Italian word for ‘tomato’, after the tomato-shaped kitchen timer that Cirillo used as a university student.

I got to know about this technique through some course, so I thought to apply this that what benefits it serves, I have 2 tasks(online courses and DIY activities) in my hand and their deadlines are approaching so I opted for one and applied this technique, I was amazed that I was doing the task very efficiently than before because it helped me to get rid of distractions and to focus more towards my task. What I realised that it was only the distractions that get you carried away from your goals.

I did not find it difficult as it allows to devout yourself fully to the task without getting distracted, moreover it helps you save a lot of time which you can utilise in reviewing your task afterwards to find any kind of mistakes. It helps me accomplish more as I was not excepting that I would do my task this much earlier which allows me to start another task in the same day which is really a achievement for me.

I would like to continue doing this technique on regular basis or whenever I need to work more productively and early to meet the deadline. I can improve my experience by making this technique a permanent habit in my life while doing any kind of important work because it not only helps you accomplish well in a time, but also teaches you how can you manage your time well and be more productive towards your work. Moreover, it helps you understand the concept of divide and conquer well, that how can you achieve more by diving your work into short parts which not only helps to do the task easily but also helps you stay calm during the task.

My experience using this technique was very pleasant one, as it helps me to complete my both tasks well before the given time. It teaches me if you manage your time well, you are able to achieve more despite being a procrastinator.

--

--