What made Beyoncé the Queen of Femme pop?

Sai Nandhana
4 min read1 day ago

--

No… It’s not just the sparkly outfits and beach waves.

As of 2022, Beyoncé secured the record for the most Grammy awards ever won and the most nominated female artist on this planet, also holding the world record for being the first female to win the most Grammys in a single year. Being the fervent businesswoman she is, Queen Bey made it to Forbes 2021’s Most Powerful Woman in the World with a whopping net worth of $500 million. Founding her own production and managing company in 2010, Parkwood Entertainment, through which she released her albums, Bey finally started her quick-selling athleisure brand, Ivy Park in partnership with Adidas. So, how did Beyoncé become the most powerful woman in music? Here are her top tips…

Reach for the Stars

Following the release of her 2nd visual album LEMONADE, Beyonce smashed the record for the first woman to score 12 simultaneous chart entries on Billboard Hot 100. All 12 of her tracks made it onto the billboard charts making her the proud holder of this world record.

“It was very risky for me to step out on my own. Being a young woman, I want to set the example that it is possible for us to own our own businesses, and own our own record labels. And sometimes we don’t reach for the stars. Sometimes we are satisfied with what people tell us we’re supposed to be satisfied with. And I’m just not going for [that].”

Sometimes you lose

Beyoncé’s career started out in the 1990s when she was one of the original members of the rap girls’ group, Girls Tyme when she was just about 9 years old. The group later was renamed Destiny’s Child and went on to be one of the most successful girl bands ever. Calling it a really defining moment in her life as a child, this is what Beyoncé had to say about the time they lost their tv musical gig in a tv show named star search.

In my mind we would perform on star search, we would win, get a record deal and that was my dream at the time. There’s no way in the world I would have ever imagined losing as a possibility. You know I was only nine years old, so at that time you dont realise that you could actually work super hard and give everything you have and lose. It was the best message for me.

Work hard

There’s no way in the world anyone would expect Beyoncé to be up there without the hard work she put in. From dancing, till her feet bleed to her unbelievable transformation after childbirth for Coachella, Bey sure has sacrificed a great deal to become the diva she is today which also includes practising choreography 7 times a week, for 9 hours a day… yah… 9 hours… And she works up to 16 hours a day according to her backup singer who’s been with her for almost 10 years, Montina Cooper, who says they work up to 14–16 hours a day and every day they rehearsed, she would come in before them and go after them. Cooper says:

“she’s very present, and she knows everything. She knows the names of the lights- oh yah, she is on… And it’s just the level of excellence that cannot be compared to anything I’ve ever experienced. You can’t work for her and not be inspired to be great”

Best work ethic in the industry

Who can compete with Beyoncé? That’s right… Beyoncé. She’s the only one she competes with and obviously the only one she can compete with. Not only does she know exactly what she wants, she knows exactly how to get it and that’s what makes her the boss.

I’m competitive really with myself. Everytime I start an album, I go and watch all of my performances and I try to figure out, okay what is it that I could have done better? What could have worked? I’m really tough on me more than anyone else. I’m not a competitive person who walks in thinking about other people and how I can compete with them.

She’s the boss folks…

Beyoncé knew what she was doing when she voiced out her opinions fearlessly in her songs and interviews. More the reason the world needs Queen Bey. Back in 2011, she put out the song ‘Run The World (Girls) it quickly shot up to the top of the charts all across the globe empowering every woman despite their race. She did it again when she popularly coined the definition of Feminism in the song ***Flawless on her legendary platinum-selling album: Beyoncé. She’s always got an opinion, she’s the critic and that’s why she’s the boss.

When i work, I dont eat, I dont use the restroom, I’m like a machine. If I’m not sleeping, nobody’s sleeping.

Beyoncé’s hands down one of the greatest performers of all time holding eight Guinness world records. She’s got the drive, She’s got the confidence, She’s got the attitude. Her most successful song, Single Ladies (Put a ring on it)’ became one of the most-watched youtube videos ever and globally, it was 2009’s seventh best-selling digital single with 6.1 million copies sold. Well, she’s not called Queen Bey for nothing!

Nandhana

--

--