Ten Habits That Set You Apart from 99% of People

Digital Diary
3 min readMay 8, 2024

The concept of habits has surged in popularity in recent years, mostly due to the personal development wave brought up by the Gen Z culture.

Primarily, this movement is about seizing control of your life. Many people found themselves living on autopilot, conforming to social standards, and neglecting to observe how they spend their time.

The Unrealistic Habits Movement

The talk about habits became really big, especially looking at successful people like CEOs and celebrities. But with all the advice out there in podcasts, books, and videos, some habits are just too much. They can stress you out and even hurt your health instead of helping.

So, let me clarify once and for all:

You don’t have to wake up at 5am, if that doesn’t work for you

You don’t have to follow any particular habit. The most important thing is to listen to your body and mind. Choose only the habits that feel right for you and actually make your life better.

“If you have the ability to love, love yourself first.” — Charles Bukowski

The 10 Habits That Can Enhanced Your Life

Today, I want to share a special list of habits I’ve picked out from lots of different ones. I’ve tried them out, adjusted them, and made them work for me. The order doesn’t really matter, so let’s get started!

Practice Daily Meditation

Taking time to meditate every day helps you feel more peaceful and focused. Try different techniques like breathing exercises, meditation where you repeat a word, or simply going for a mindful walk. Find what works best for you. And remember, doing it regularly is important to get the most out of it.

Different people find meditation in different activities. It could be transcendental meditation, yoga, focusing on your breath, or even just taking a walk. Here are some ways I meditate:

- Sitting quietly and clearing my mind

- Imagining peaceful scenes

- Doing a workout

- Listening to calming music

- Taking a relaxing shower

It’s about finding what helps you feel calm and centered.

Limit Coffee Intake Upon Waking

Coffee is a popular morning drink that gives us energy, but having too much can be bad for us. To avoid relying too much on caffeine, try not to drink coffee for the first 1–2 hours after you wake up. You can wait until later in the morning to have your first cup.

Prioritize Quality Sleep

In my journey to improve myself, I worked on different parts of my life like staying fit, building relationships, and eating healthy. But, I always ignored how important sleep is. I used to stay up late, hanging out with friends, watching Netflix, or reading. Then I realize how crucial sleep is. So, here’s what I learned:

Read More

--

--

Digital Diary
0 Followers

Thriving Together, Nourishing Minds, Bodies, and Souls!